Louise Welsh

(c) Steve Lindridge
(c) Steve Lindridge

When?: Sunday 26th, 12pm
Where?: Twitter
What?: The Collaborative Crime Creation

Louise has been the recipient of several awards including The John Creasey Memorial Dagger, the Saltire First Book Award, the Glenfiddich/Scotland on Sunday, Spirit of Scotland Writing Award and City of Glasgow Lord Provost’s Award for Literature. In 2007 she was included in Waterstone’s list of Twenty-five Authors for the Future.

Louise has written many short stories and produced features for most of the major British broadsheets. She has also written for the stage, most recently Panic Patterns (2010) and also in 2009, wrote the libretto for a fifteen minute opera Remembrance Day, music by Stuart MacRae, which was included in Scottish Opera’s Five:15 series. She has also presented several radio features, most recently a five part series following in Edwin Muir’s footsteps for BBC Radio 4,Welsh’s Scottish Journey’, andHow to Commit a Murderfor BBC Radio Scotland, both produced by Louise Yeoman.

Louise’s work has been translated into twenty languages and she has been awarded several international fellowships and residencies including a Robert Louis Stevenson Award (2003), Hawthornden Fellowship (2005), Stipendium at the Internationales Künstlerhaus Villa Concordia (2007/8), Civitella Ranieri Foundation Fellowship (2008), Villa Hellebosch residency (2009) and a Cove Park Residency (2012, Pending)

She was writer in residence for The University of Glasgow and Glasgow School of Art.

She lives with the writer Zoë Strachan.


Books from Louise: Waterstones | Blackwell’s | Amazon | Indie Bookshops near you